Key Council roles and appointments announced


Key Council roles and appointments announced

Somerset County Council held a Full Council meeting on 25 May 2022. It was the first since the election results were announced – and there were lots of appointments to be made to key roles within the Council, and to Committees. Here’s a quick reminder of who’s who in the new administration.

The County Council has operated a Leader and Executive/Cabinet model since 2001, under which the majority of functions that the Council undertakes are the responsibility of a small number of councillors operating as an ‘Executive’ or ‘Cabinet’.

The Leader has responsibility, under the Council’s Constitution, to agree those Executive arrangements and confirm the membership of the Executive and Lead Member roles.

  • Cllr Bill Revans has been appointed as the Leader of the Council
  • Deputy Leader of the Council and Lead Member on Finance and Human Resources, is Cllr Liz Leyshon

Further key appointments include:

  • Lead Member for Adult Social Care is Cllr Heather Shearer
  • Lead Member for Children and Families is Cllr Tessa Munt
  • Lead Member for Development and Assets is Cllr Ros Wyke
  • Lead Member for Transport and Digital is Cllr Mike Rigby
  • Lead Member for Public Health, Equalities and Diversity is Cllr Adam Dance
  • Lead Member for Communities is Cllr Federica Smith-Roberts
  • Lead Member for Local Government Reorganisation and Prosperity is Cllr Val Keitch
  • Lead Member for the Environment and Climate Change is Cllr Sarah Dyke

*You can download a full list of responsibilities for each Lead Member here –  Appendix A ‘Leaders appointment of Executive May 2022′

Associate Lead Members are also appointed by the Leader of the Council. Their primary role is to provide advice, policy development and support to their Lead Member. Associate Lead Members will be allocated specific service areas to lead and advise the Executive and relevant Lead Member. They are not able to take decisions.

Associate Lead Member Appointments are as follows:

  • Associate Lead Member for Governance and Communications – Derek Perry
  • Associate Lead Member for Finance – Peter Seib
  • Associate Lead Member for Education – Caroline Ellis
  • Associate Lead Member for Public Health – Ross Henley
  • Associate Lead Member for Adults – Mike Stanton
  • Associate Lead Member for Economic Development and Inward Investment – David Woan
  • Associate Lead Member for Development and Assets – Sarah Wakefield
  • Associate Lead Member for Communities – Nicola Clark
  • Associate Lead Member for Environment & Climate Change – Dixie Darch
  • Associate Lead Member for Transport & Digital – Mike Hewitson

Save the date:

Meetings of the Executive for 2022 are as proposed below. Check out the website for agendas and reports at

  • 13 July 2022
  • 17 August 2022
  • 14 September 2022
  • 19 October 2022
  • 16 November 2022
  • 14 December 2022

For a full list of the Leader of Council’s appointments to the Executive (including Lead and Associate Lead Member roles) and appointments to other bodies, please click on this link.

News item added: 16 June, 2022